Rapport: revue de la documentation concernant les approches diverse à la réglementation

Pendant l’été de 2012, CAMPUT a engagé la société KPMG LLP à entreprendre une revue de la documentation disponible concernant les approches diverse à la réglementation. Le rapport is disponible ici.

Étude sur la balisage réglementaire

En 2010, CAMPUT a rendu publique une étude sur la balisage qui examine certaines options permettant d’utiliser la balisage comme outil de réglementation au Canada.

CAMPUT a réservé les services de deux entreprises d’experts-conseils indépendants qui ont collaboré au rapport issu de l’étude – First Quartile Consulting, LLC, de El Segundo (California) et Elenchus Research Associates, Inc., de Toronto (Ontario).  Dans le cadre de l’étude, les chercheurs ont abondamment consulté les services publics d’électricité et les autorités de réglementation au Canada.

Dans ce rapport intitulé << CAMPUT Benchmarking for Regulatory Purposes >>, les consultants examinent les usages potentiels de la balisage aux fins de la réglementation au Canada, ainsi que divers enjeux et préoccupations propres à la balisage. Le rapport comprend un ensemble de paramètres que pourraient utiliser les autorités de réglementation canadiennes pour faciliter les comparaisons entre sphères de compétence d’un service public à l’autre.

CAMPUT a soumis cette étude à l’examen des régies et commissions membres. Chaque régie et commission déterminera dans quelle mesure les recommandations seront adoptées dans sa sphère de compétence. Rapport

Rapport sur le marché du carbone distribué à la conférence CAMPUT 2009

En 2008/2009, l’Association canadienne du gaz, l’Association canadienne de l’électricité ainsi que CAMPUT ont organisé trois sessions pour discuté le marché du carbone. Ces discussions ont porté sur la taxe sur le carbone versus la bourse du carbone, les technologies requises dans l’établissement du prix du carbone, les impacts du marché du carbone sur l’économie et les perspectives des consommateurs. Rapport

Étude de CAMPUT sur la gestion de la demande

Pendant l’automne de 2005, CAMPUT a engagé la société Summit Blue Consulting LLC d’entreprendre une étude sur la gestion de la demande, concernant l’industrie de l’électricité, et l’industrie du gaz naturel.  Le rapport, << Demand-Side Management: Determining Appropriate Spending Levels and Cost-Effectiveness Tests >> a été publié, et est disponible via les liens suivants:

Rapport

Appendix A: Summaries by Jurisdiction

Appendix B: DSM Incentive Language From Commission Decisions

What works: Identifying and scaling up successful innovations in Canadian energy regulatory decision making

July 2021
Regulators’ responsibilities in energy decision-making are changing and adjusting. This collaborative project between the University of Ottawa’s Positive Energy program and Canada’s Energy and Utility Regulators (CAMPUT) aims to identify innovative approaches and success factors in energy regulatory decision-making in an age of climate change for two areas:

  1. Formal two-way interaction between policymakers and regulators, focusing on mechanisms to strengthen policy and regulation while maintaining regulatory independence.
  2. Public engagement processes undertaken by regulators, including collaborative mechanisms that help to ensure diversity in information and viewpoints considered in decision-making processes and oversight.
More Information

Report: Literature review on alternative approaches to regulation

In the summer of 2012, CAMPUT engaged the firm of KPMG LLP to undertake a literature review of the emergence of alternative approaches to regulation across jurisdictions. The report is now available here.

CAMPUT Benchmarking Study

In 2010 CAMPUT released a benchmarking study which examines some of the options available for using benchmarking as a regulatory tool in Canada.

CAMPUT retained two independent consulting companies which worked jointly on the study report – First Quartile Consulting, LLC, of El Segundo, California, and Elenchus Research Associates, Inc., of Toronto, Ontario.  In completing the study, the researchers consulted extensively with electric utilities and energy regulators in Canada.

In the report, entitled “CAMPUT Benchmarking for Regulatory Purposes,” the consultants examine potential uses of benchmarking for regulatory purposes in Canada, as well as issues and concerns around the use of benchmarking.  The report includes a set of metrics which might be used by Canadian regulators to facilitate cross-jurisdictional comparisons among utilities.

CAMPUT provided the study to its member boards and commissions for their consideration.  Individual boards and commissions will determine the degree to which the recommendations are implemented within their jurisdictions.

View Report

Carbon pricing dialogue report released at CAMPUT 2009 conference

Along with the Canadian Gas Association and the Canadian Electricity Association, in 2008/2009 CAMPUT held a series of three sessions which progressively explored the implications of carbon pricing: starting with understanding the scale of the challenge and the policy options in play; moving on to understand the potential impacts on both energy consumers and utilities; and finally to understanding the potential implications for regulatory systems in the years ahead.

View Report

CAMPUT study on demand side management

In the fall of 2005, CAMPUT engaged the services of Summit Blue Consulting, LLC, to conduct a study on Demand Side Management (DSM) with respect to the electricity and natural gas industries. The report, “Demand-Side Management: Determining Appropriate Spending Levels and Cost-Effectiveness Tests”, is available via the links below:

View Report

REGULATORS

COVID-19 RESOURCES

CAMPUT STUDIES